I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything and this is because I’ve been dealing with adulthood.

Since returning from San Francisco I turned 22. Around the time of my birthday was a weird and wonderful time. Weird and wonderful because I spent the day with different people and it gave me a lot of opportunity to reflect on being 21. First half of being 21 wasn’t brilliant: studenting, grief and heartbreak. Second half of 21 much better: travel, reconnecting and freedom.

By freedom I mean that having no coursework or exams to prepare for. However, I’m not here to suggest that being 22 has been spectacular so far. Being a graduate is rubbish. I’ve spent my whole life with a plan of what’s happening next and this is the first time in my life where I genuinely have no idea what might even happen next week. This is something I’m having to get used to. Even though I made plans while I was still at university for the infamous year after graduating all those plans have not worked out for me. And that’s okay. It’s terrifying to face the fact that you have to discover what you want to do. But still, deciding what you want to do now at the age of 22 for the rest of your life is really intense.

So the plan? I got another relief support work job and fantastic opportunities lined up in accessible arts. I’m excited also because I’ve booked myself a little trip to Lisbon!

Any graduates out there who are bored of filling out applications and feeling in a pit of despair do not worry. After studying for years you deserve to have a break and a more chilled out life. Do some stuff you enjoy and figure it all out as you go 🙂

Leave a Reply

